May 2013 – Rules IQ
What happens when you hit a brilliant chip shot and it lodges partially in the hole against the flagstick?
According to Rule 17-4 Ball resting against flagstick (Page 74):
When a player’s ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.
So, if your ball is against the flagstick, you must remove the flagstick very carefully before removing your ball. If your ball lands outside the hole when you remove the flagstick, you need to putt it in.