Ball Moving on the Green

March 2012

 

If you are about to putt your ball on the green and the wind moves it before you hit it, does it count as a stroke?

 

Previously, it would have counted as a stroke if you had addressed the ball (taken your stance and soled your club). Under the rule changes taking effect this year, this no longer applies. You would not be penalized and you would play your ball from its new position. This new rule applies any time your ball moves without the player having caused the movement.