Ground Under Repair

June 2012 – Rules IQ


We’ve all seen areas of the course roped off or otherwise indicated as ground under repair. What do you do if your ball lands within that area, or close to it?

 

If your ball lands within the area, technically you may play it as it lies (but the course rules may prohibit you from doing so!) or you can find the nearest point of relief and drop the ball within 1 club length of that point, without penalty.

 

Sometimes your ball lands behind such an area, and you might find it visually intimidating to play your next shot. If your ball lands outside the area, such that you can swing freely, you must play it as it lies. So picture where you do want to land (positive thoughts!) and swing away!